Update: Travel takes time

In all the hustle and bustle of the end of my semester in Tours, cleaning the apartment for inspection and setting off on a few adventures, I have fallen very behind in recording my journey through this blog. Travelling is time consuming!

The Portugal trip was followed by a weekend in Paris. The weekend after that I was in Dublin to visit my close friend Sara. A few days later I was all packed up and off to Bologna, Italy. I spent a fantastic two weeks travelling around the north of Italy: Venice, the Cinque Terre, Florence and Pisa.

Then it was off to Morocco. I stayed in Marrakesh with two good friends from Tours- who also happen to be Australians studying in Melbourne. It was lovely to have some company after travelling alone, even though I enjoyed the freedom of being independent and making my own decisions.

The week in Morocco was over all too soon. I spent one night in Rome and then took a flight to Brussels, Belgium. It was great to be speaking French in Morocco and Belgium and to hear the differences between the different Francophone countries. Since arriving in Brussels, I’ve moved on to Brugges, Rotterdam, Dordretch, a little village called Strijen, Delft and have now arrived in Amsterdam.

The travel has been amazing: seeing so many varied cultures and places is very inspiring. I am so grateful to be on this journey and I look forward to posting about my adventures in more detail as soon as I get the chance.

Nearing 6 months away from Melbourne, and about twice that since I was in my home town, there are some days when I feel a little tinge of homesickness. In a few days time though, I will have my friend Tasha coming all the way from Melbourne to join me on my travels. It will be fantastic to have her company and I am so excited to be touring France with her, visiting friends and exploring new places… and improving our French together!

Leave a Reply

