Festival International de la Bande Dessinée

When planning my trip to France, one thing I did was check out festivals and events that were on during my stay that might interest me. One festival in particular caught my eye: the annual international comic, cartoon and graphic novel festival at Angoulême.

It was looking pretty costly to get myself there and back again: 14 euro for a day ticket, plus around 60 euro for a train to Poitiers plus the cost of a coach to Angoulême. It was going to take around 5 hours each way, and I wasn’t sure if I had the motivation.

A few weeks into the semester, I was checking my uni inbox when I discovered an email from the arts student association: An excursion to Angoulême! What’s more, entry and transport was only 10 euro. I was one happy chappy.

The only trouble was, we were leaving early: meeting at the town library at 5:45 for a 6am departure. This meant that I’d have to walk about half an hour to get myself there since it was too early to catch a bus. Luckily though, the coach that drove us there was very comfortable and I was able to get another 3 hours of rest before heading out to visit the festival.

Another bonus of travelling with the uni group was that I found someone else who’d come by themselves, and the two of us were able to explore the festival together. Not only was it nice to be able to discuss the things we’d seen, it was also great French practice! The festival itself was wonderful and I wish I’d been able to spend a little more time viewing the exhibitions and a little less time in the queue. It was so nice to have my itinerary prearranged for me- and at such an affordable price. There are definitely major advantages to being a student when it comes to travelling and taking part in cultural activities.

Leave a Reply

